Digital storytelling

I really enjoyed this week’s class.  It was interesting to peruse all of the tools that seemed to have a very practical application for both my personal and professional life.  On a personal level, no more lame-o Christmas cards this year – I’m going to try to go digital!

What I really enjoyed about the idea of digital storytelling is that this gives a voice to people who may or may not feel comfortable expressing themselves through other means.  Any time we can open up more lines of communication to allow people an avenue to share thoughts, opinions, interests, etc. in a variety of different ways, it allows us to express ourselves in different ways which is always a good thing.

With regards to the transition from oral storytelling to written and now to digital, I think it is a natural progression.  We’ve come a long way from cave drawings and clay figurines, but at some point even that would have been seen as the new and innovative thing to do.  Humans are always going to try to find new and different means of expression and it is not surprising that this has moved into the digital dimension.  What is surprising is that we haven’t heard more about some of these applications that really are awesome.

I’m guessing that this wasn’t presented just to show people the cool new tools that they can use to cut back on scrapbooking costs or create movies of our kids’ dance recitals.  As this class is aimed at providing educators with the necessary know-how to incorporate technology into our practice, the application of these types of projects into schools is a fantastic opportunity.  Rather than forcing students who might not be comfortable with the traditional pen and paper or even class presentations in front of their peers to maintain the status quo, this could provide another avenue to display comprehension of or engagement with materials presented in a class setting.  And why limit this to the students?  Educators can make use of these tools to present material as well!

3 Responses to “Digital storytelling”

  1. Jeffg Says:

    Right on Gatin! In my opinion, you’ve nailed it on the head that story telling allows everyone an avenue to express oneself. You know as well as I do that in a high school setting, these story telling opportunities can bring children out of their shell and into an interactive environment where they have confidence and eventually success in life. I am trying to find how I can fit this into my teachings as most of the links that I have seen are not directly related to my course content; nonetheless, I still want to show my students some of these inspirational videos as a “teaching” moment. I hope to find a link that will show me how quick and easy it is to create my own storytelling moment to present to my students. I’ll let you know as soon as I do.

  2. starkg Says:

    “Rather than forcing students who might not be comfortable with the traditional pen and paper or even class presentations in front of their peers to maintain the status quo, this could provide another avenue to display comprehension of or engagement with materials presented in a class setting. And why limit this to the students? Educators can make use of these tools to present material as well!” Great points!

    I think I will be incorporating a story presentation into my Info processing/Communications class! I think many of the students will take these tools and run with them – especially when the shy ones realize they don’t have to make a live presentation to the class to be involved!

  3. Bettina Welsh Says:

    Digital communication, what a treat! I too am suprised that educators haven’t been introduced to the digital tools that are available. It is my opinion that it is up to educators to inject themselves into professional development. We need to keep up with the latest and greatest on our own. Most of what has increased my teaching abilities I have found outside the school umbrella. As you must know by now, you actually do learn in Graduate school. For some reason or another you realized that you needed/wanted to go back to school. For me, I had so many unanswered questions as a teacher. The graduate classes have answered a few and opened a whole bunch more. I know you were skeptical in our last class together, I’m glad that you have found something useful! Happy blogging, Bettina Welsh

Leave a Reply

