Getting to know me

Hello everyone! I’m not exactly sure how to start this or really what to say as I have never really written, read or had much to do with blogs to this point in my life, but I’ve read over a few of the intros from others in the class and I’ll try my darndest to make myself sound as interesting as all of you.

My name is Brian Gatin and I am in my 4th year of teaching. I am starting my first year at Thom Collegiate and I couldn’t be happier with my job. I am a Core French teacher and I truly love working with young people and instilling a passion for learning.

This is my second year of graduate classes and I was brave/foolish enough to sign up for two classes this semester. I have really enjoyed this class so far and I hope it will provide me with a greater understanding of the digital world, not only for professional reasons, but to also be more aware of and proficient with the technology that has come to be such an integral part of our society.

I have coached football for the past 8 years and as it is somewhat a passion for me, I am trying to incorporate this into this class as well. We have been struggling trying to communicate dates for practices or fund raising activities with all of our players, so I hope to use the knowledge gained from this class to set up a website or blog that will allow for easier communication between our coaching staff and players. I’ll keep you posted with how it turns out!

I have a beautiful wife, Meghan, and an adorable daughter, Emilie, who is 3 and full of boundless energy.

Speaking of which, I hope she will be waking up from her nap soon so I think we’ll go enjoy this beautiful weather we’ve been blessed with and take a walk over to the park.

Have a great weekend everyone and until next time, over and out.

Leave a Reply

